A 10 track cassette album (SHR01)


Evidence - Now available as Evolution


- Come Follow Me
- Make Your Choice
- Winter Days
- Fall For Me
- Walk Away
- So Here I Am
- Don't Think Of Me
- An Old Flame
- In Your Shoes
- I Remain

View the lyrics to this album

View the lyrics

MP3 (download only)

See EVOLUTION CD above  
PRICE: £ n/a
Now available as a CD-R Evolution which also contains all of Resolution (SHRCD01/02)


EVIDENCE was released in October 1991. Essentially it is a compilation of songs recorded between 1988 and 1991. There were many songs recorded by Mark between 1986 and 1991 which were compiled onto album length cassettes and given to friends and family. There was no band title or name used at the time. Such 'albums' included 'Chapter Two Begins' (1986), 'A Lifetime Away' (1987), 'Poppy Day' (1988), 'Lost For Words' (1990) and 'Independence' (1991). 'Poppy Day' incidentally was a 21 song guitar based album from which most of the Evidence and Resolution songs are collected from. Mark decided in 1991 to compile a number of songs resulting in these two compilations and release them under the name of 'The Shining Hour' - a name chosen from a film guide.

Notable unreleased 'Shining Hour' songs from this period include 'I Don't Want To Know' and 'Face It Now' from 'Lost For Words' which were eventually chosen for the Apricot CD Wait All Summer. 'Chapter One Ends' and 'Five O'Clock Rise' were from the 'Chapter Two Begins' tape and were respectively released on Apricot's Airpop compilation CD and The Shining Hour's first single E.P. Five O'Clock Rise. Fragile re-recorded jangly classic 'I Remain' for their debut seven inch EP Worlds Apart on Apricot Records.

Some good songs from 1986 to 1991 still exist, unreleased under The Shining Hour banner.... so do some horrible efforts too!


Appeared in 'Waaaaaaaaah!' indie magazine issue 4 in November 1993

"Cultured, polished and yet vibrant guitar-pop from West Sussex! The Shining Hour can hold their heads up high because they display on this debut LP a natural talent to write accomplished songs with urgency, good old fashioned clipped guitar strumming and hooks aplenty combining to create a strange but beautiful sound conjuring up images of The Farmers Boys, REM and The Beach Boys. Noble."