A 21 track album on CD-R (SHR01/02CD)



- Come Follow Me
- Make Your Choice
- Winter Days
- Fall For Me
- Walk Away
- So Here I Am
- Don't Think Of Me
- An Old Flame
- In Your Shoes
- I Remain

View the lyrics to this album

View the lyrics


- Independence
- Understand
- Good Intentions
- Heart Of Steel
- Come To Me Now
- Captivated
- Don't Pretend You Love Me
- We Don't Talk
- You Never Call
- Weak
- Time To Move On

MP3 128kbps (download only)

So Here I Am So Here I Am 2.9 Mb
Come To Me Now Come To Me Now - Downloadable stereo MP3 file (3.6 Mb) 4.7 Mb
PRICE: £2.50 CD-R
Now available as a double length CD-R Evolution which also contains all of Resolution (SHR02)


EVOLUTION is an hour length CD-R containing the first two Shining Hour releases, Evidence and Resolution. It was decided to combine the two as it is difficult to purchase C-30 cassettes. Therefore in an hour you can get to hear 21 jangly pop songs for £2.50. Essentially it is a compilation of songs recorded between 1988 and 1991. There were many songs recorded by Mark between 1986 and 1991 and compiled onto album length cassettes and given to friends and family. There was no band title or name used at the time. Such 'albums' included 'Chapter Two Begins' (1986), 'A Lifetime Away' (1987), 'Poppy Day' (1988), 'Lost For Words' (1990) and 'Independence' (1991). 'Poppy Day' incidentally was a 21 song guitar based album from which most of the Evidence and Resolution songs are collected from. Mark decided in 1991 to compile a number of songs resulting in these two compilations and release them under the name of 'The Shining Hour' - a name chosen from a film guide. 'Weak' also appears on the first Because We Care compilation.

Notable unreleased 'Shining Hour' songs from this period include 'I Don't Want To Know' and 'Face It Now' from 'Lost For Words' which were eventually chosen for the Apricot CD Wait All Summer. 'Chapter One Ends' and 'Five O'Clock Rise' were from the 'Chapter Two Begins' tape and were respectively released on Apricot's Airpop compilation CD and The Shining Hour's first single E.P. Five O'Clock Rise. Fragile re-recorded jangly classic 'I Remain' for their debut seven inch EP Worlds Apart on Apricot Records.

Some good songs from 1986 to 1991 still exist, unreleased under The Shining Hour banner.... so do some horrible efforts too!

REVIEW (of the EVIDENCE songs)

Appeared in 'Waaaaaaaaah!' indie magazine issue 4 in November 1993

"Cultured, polished and yet vibrant guitar-pop from West Sussex! The Shining Hour can hold their heads up high because they display on this debut LP a natural talent to write accomplished songs with urgency, good old fashioned clipped guitar strumming and hooks aplenty combining to create a strange but beautiful sound conjuring up images of The Farmers Boys, REM and The Beach Boys. Noble."